End of Term Review

As we leap-frog from day-to-day, I found myself feeling stressed that I had not done enough.

I worried that somehow I have been negligent in my efforts so I began to collect the pieces I did in an effort to account for my time.

For my kilncasting, I began the log to satisfy my teacher (Orion Arger) because he couldn’t actually read my writing–I like to use different colours and I write my thoughts all over the place.  Since I can follow my own thinking, it has not really caused me a problem–but Orion was not impressed.  Hence, the online journal of its sort:

Handibles

Bowls

Above was the outcome of the vase (3 bowls joined to make 1)

These stacked bowls are in the process of becoming a fountain where the water trickles down through the holes to be pumped back and recirculated in an endless cycle–just like my assignments!

Boots/Hands– event though these had glitches unforeseen, I was able to revisit them after all and I am rather pleased with the promise of more…

Bibles –this came from that on the left

These seem to just keep growing in mass.  I had no idea how much muscle fatigue could be caused by trying to hold these to the polishing wheels


Doesn’t seem to matter that I experiment with different types of glass at all.  They are just very heavy.  My arms actually began to spasm when I bathed one night so that I couldn’t even get the soap on me.

Crosses

My school activities are not all about kiln casting…

I have been doing some stain glass work because they brought a man (Josef Cavalieri) all the way from New York who introduced us to some really “kewl”  ideas.  Each of what you see below is something that has different layers in one way or another!

     

In the 2 centered pics above, those photoresist images are my drawings from the summer.  The images I work with are almost always my own drawings or photography.

Then again I do what is called cold-working with another teacher (Andy Kuntz).  (Andy was the teacher at Haliburton School of The Arts who told me that if I came to Sheridan to study glass, I could go almost 3 years without ever blowing)  Not quite true–but close.

This block of crystal was a reject from some commissioned work that Andy had done.  As students, we were allowed to buy the blocks at less than cost so that we could attempt to develop our carving skills. 

I decide the bristling hair of my husband’s beard was more interesting than any body part of mine that I could think of.

I began to carve at the surface and for several days, Andy got a kick out of calling my piece “Cousin It”!

   

This is the more humanized version of my work–created from that block  of crystal.  Note that it caused me to think quite a bit about things I have yet to resolve.  When I started here, I was quite good at polishing smooth surfaces.  No one said that getting into nooks and crannies and corners would cause me so much grief.  I have broken tools and bent mandrels on the dremel–all in the name of accessing rounded corners.

And I did some work with photoresist of drawings and fusings I made…

  

The Installation:

You already know about our work at the new Mississauga campus where we did the installation.  My job (one of them) was to contact people who might help us to promote public recognition of the event.  Another of my duties was to take pictures.  So I took pictures and wrote emails until my program head told me to stop.  What took the most time was the sandblasting and rinsing and packing of the borosilicate glass tubes that had been donated for that exact purpose.  No marks were given for the work we did there.  But the experience on my resume is worth more than mere lip service.

The glass blowing furnace:

As  you might recall, the support staff was on strike when we returned to classes in the fall this year.  Time was spent in the completion of the new furnace.

  Did I even mention that I do sandcasting with glass?  Hmmm…

 


The above were last year’s sandcastings

  This is an example of my last year’s sandblasting

  And this is what happens when I really screw up with my pieces…

Guess I’ll have to wait to show you things I plan for this coming year …

Seasons Greetings to All who visit my site!

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
This entry was posted in Kiln documentation, SchoolDaze. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

