Sheridan College Glass Installation (new Mississauga Campus) – “The installation”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As we approach the end of term, we stressout over how to allocate our time.  We have upcoming exams and final presentations.  And… who could ignore that many of us are trying to get pieces ready for final crits as everything that could go wrong, does.

What you should remember from what you see here is just one more demonstration of the reasons why I attend this institution.

Earlier this year I was present when our technical assistant rebuilt one of the glass furnaces.  Although many of the support staff went on strike this summer, the furnace was just far enough along that we students could help to finish.  The experience of such an event is hard to come by — and invaluable!  Approaching the end of my 50’s decade in age, I am certainly not be the most technologically savvy person around.  We were shown just how doable building our own equipment could be.

All 3 years of glass students joined forces to assist with the installation of this piece.  Other programs within Sheridan have given their support when possible.  Alumni have given of their time; local suppliers of donated many of the supplies.  For that reason, I’ll save the explanations for another time and content myself by submitting pics so that at least the story is told in a timely fashion.

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
This entry was posted in 1st Public Group Art Installation, SchoolDaze. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

