My Kiln Log

This is my instructor & classmate in the kilncasting room

This is now my 2nd year of the Sheridan Crafts and Design Program. For the first year, I tried to do everything I was asked but was overwhelmed with the range of projects.

In my 2nd & 3rd years, I have choices to direct my time and energy.  I am allowed to specialize.

I have chosen Kilncasting (melting glass in a kiln-probably using a plaster form) as my major subject and Coldworking (grinding, polishing, sandblasting, engraving); because of my previous inclinations, I also participate in some of the sandcasting classes.

Projects that I have been given to consider:

  • Handibles – things that can be held in ones hand – some were to aesthetically appealing or comforting while others were to introduce a sort of dissonance
  • Bowls – we were given a round bowl shape to work with but I found a slightly modified version to use as a base

Another classmate prepping for firing--AND my suspect cracked form for firing

Projects that I keep thinking would be interest to explore:

  • Shoes with body parts emerging from the boot
  • Fusings of plate glass
  • Bibles in various configurations (laidopen or partially closed) made with soft glass, plate glass

    We call this the "Italian" kiln. It is long and used more for flat pieces than the type of things I would normally have to fire.

We were given firing programs to use to tell the computer how to set the timing and temperatures as well as the duration of the melting and cooling times.

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
Gallery | This entry was posted in SchoolDaze. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

