Handibles

Here is my 1st program provided by my instructor, Orion Arger.

Kiln # 5 was loaded with our pieces Monday, Sept.26. 2011 about 12:30 midday.

Steps

  1. 3:-      hrs……………………………….^  95 degrees celsius
  2. 8:-      hrs……………………………….^ 120      ”              ”           * we are drying out
  3. 14:      hrs……………………………….@ 120     ”               ”                excess moisture
  4. 20:     hrs……………………………….^  600     ”              “
  5. 21:     hrs……………………………….@  600     ”              “
  6. 21:01 hrs……………………………….^   850     ”              ”          *melting the glass
  7. 29:-    hrs……………………………….@  850       ”             ”              over ~ 10 hrs. 
  8. 29: 01   hrs………………………………     515       ”              ”    *annealing temperature–
  9. 36:-     hrs……………………………….@  515        ”              ”    glass cooling slowly to
  10. 50:-     hrs………………………………..    390       ”              ”     reduce thermal shock
  11. 60:-    hrs…… …………………………..        50       ”              “

We set the timing so that we could be present on the Tuesday to remove the drying blocks at the opening of the kiln (once the moisture had evaporated–it is a precautionary measure).

Handible - mine

We also checked to see if we needed to add more glass to our pieces while there was time to correct our error in measuring.

This still may have worked better if I had stuck with clear glass — rather than using the free coloured glass.  The black of the flower melted so  much faster than the adventurine–Bronze-type colour (plus white mixed in) and then the adventurine & white flecks of colour got trapped in the wire I had inside the mold.

Flower with disconnected base-if I had made the stem thicker for the base, with a bit more glass, this might have worked

Meant to be held in one's hand but still needs coldworking & polishing

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Handibles, Kiln documentation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

