Cat Lovers Haven

I have 2 cats.
This is our Faith. She keeps vigil over us always and has done so for about 10 years. In her first year while exploring her world, she got her left paw and leg caught between some paneling and broke some of the bones.  It initially seemed as though she would never do more than drag the entire leg.

I had her bones set and put in a cast at the same times as I had her fixed. The vet thought that she would not be able to use the paw and wondered if we should amputate it instead of setting it in the cast. When she arrived home from the vet, she promptly stuck her paw into the fish tank. As she loosened the cast, she removed it and began to play tag. The doctor offered to redo the cast and I wondered, “Why bother?” In the years we have owned her, she visits all of our neighbours and is considered the nosey one because she likes to lay on our quiet back lot road and watch people arrive. She climbs trees and hunts actively, and has been a source of inspiration when I am challenged.

In our household we have always considered our Faith to be the boss. She loves to find small confined spaces such as shelving for clothing or boxes.  She will sit and watch the world go by quite contentedly.

My 2 college age daughters have moved from our isolated home in cottage country to apartments in large cities. Our town is so small, we do not even have any stoplights. Blinking could cause someone to drive through town without notice.

For the next 3 years, I will be studying in another large city while staying at someone else’s home. I cannot take Faith with me to school. My daughters are not stable enough to know where they will be living for quite some time as they begin to start their careers.
During the winter months, I have always used a litter box; but during the summer months, she plays outside and so I put the litter box away. She is content to tell me when she wants out.

This gray child is our Dr. Zeuss. He began life as a barn cat on a farm, outside of Fenelon Falls, Ontario. But one day, he hitched home in my husband’s car (up inside under the dashboard) from a renovations job in another town. He was so skittish and timid then.  He continues to be rather shy.

Fortuitous for him it was because later, all of the other died, except for the mother. At 6 months, we could not tell that the wee 2 lbs. creature was actually a male. Even the vet thought “he” was a “she” until just before he arrived to be fixed. It took us about 2 years to get the mites out of his ears. Owning Dr. Zeuss has been like having a small child to keep one company. At age 6, he is playful and likes to follow people around while they work like a toddler would. He is extremely affectionate. He will also ask to come into your lap to watch t.v. while you pet him. He is an avid hunter indoors and out.

If allowed access to the bathroom, our Faith will actually drink from the sink tap. She does not like baths. Dr. Zeuss finds the tap thing a challenge because the water hits him on the head while he tries to drink from the basin.

Parting is something I do with great reluctance.  They have been wonderfully attentive pets, both of them. However, my family situation is changing drastically.  If you would like to adopt our 2 cats, perhaps you would send an email to deborah.r.murphy@gmail.com to talk further.  We live about 1 1/2 hours north of Lindsay, Ontario.  However, I will be visiting one daughter in Scarborough, Ontario; as well as the other in Ottawa.  And I personally will be driving to Oakville for school, if it helps for us to connect somehow.

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
This entry was posted in CATtails and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

