The Art Fart…

I entered Haliburton School of The Arts in Sept.2008.  I had never even tried to draw anything before.  I began by making marks on the pages and experimenting.

My class had 2 rooms assigned for use.  I began each day by practising in the one no one else wanted to occupy.  Had lots of time to myself each morning.

It is a good thing that I am such a serious artist.  I took a lot of teasing at my first self-portraits! Everyday I practised and you can see how well I captured my image in the assigned projects by the way my self portraits are so exacting!

As I drew each day, people grew more confused as to the identity of my model.

The idea was that if I learned to draw, maybe I would also learn to take better pictures with my camera.  I figured that 2 years might just give me a start, right?

About whendidwestart

I am what I consider to be starting my life over. I have been studying art for 2 years and have begun 3 years of glass Crafts & Design in Sheridan College. I am also discovering how much I like to write online--a good thing because applying for scholarships will have one writing a lot of essays. My summer 2010 was about finding the funding to cover my expenses. Whatever I thought my life would be about this past year of school, I never expected to be trying to help 2 daughters in 1st year college when their funding fell short. My summer 2011 became about sitting still long enough to consider the impact of my goals. I look for $$ for supplies and I look for $$ for equipment for when I complete my program. I have a commercial size compressor for running a sandblaster; but no sandblaster. I have a Skutt kiln; but cannot afford the hydro required to fire it up. I have some stained glass and supplies; my program has just had stained glass artist Joseph Cavalieri from New York to input ideas on how we could incorporate what he does to what we do. When I finish here at Sheridan, I expect that I will do mostly cold glass work--stained glass and sandblasting..... Perhaps some work with stone because many of the properties of stone are similar to working with glass! I am also about sharing information with others who want to break from traditional thinking about a lot of things. For example, I have been a Bell Canada since I left home at 15. My Mom used to be a Bell Telephone operator when Bell was the only game in town. My Stepmother and her sister and my sister all worked for MaBell. I once worked for Bell Northern Research and until recently, I thought I would be a Bell customer for life. I am not so certain of that any more. I want to know more about economical phone plans (land & mobile). Are there any out there? I have recently begun to realize that to stay ahead of the game, one would almost have had to study law to understand the significance of a phone plan--no matter what the ads say!
This entry was posted in SchoolDaze and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

